12 NCAC 10B .0505 EVALUATION FOR TRAINING WAIVER
This Rule shall be used by Division staff in evaluating an applicant's training and experience to determine eligibility
for a waiver of training as set forth in 12 NCAC 10B .0504(a).
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Persons who separated from a sworn law enforcement position during their probationary period
after having completed a commission-certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course and who
have been separated from a sworn law enforcement position for one year or less shall serve the
remainder of the initial probationary period in accordance with G.S. 17E-7(b), but need not
complete an additional training program.
Persons who separated from a sworn law enforcement position during their probationary period
without having completed Basic Law Enforcement Training, or whose certification was suspended
pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0204(b)(1), and who have remained separated or suspended for over
one year shall:
€)] complete a commission-certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course in its entirety;
(b) pass the State Comprehensive Examination; and
(© complete a 12 month probationary period as prescribed in 12 NCAC 10B .0503(a).
Persons transferring to a Sheriff's Office from another law enforcement agency who held
certification and who have previously completed a commission-certified Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course beginning on or after October 1, 1984, and who have been separated from a
sworn law enforcement position for no more than one year or who have had no break in service
shall complete the following topics of a commission-certified Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course:
€)] Civil Process 24 hours
(b) Sheriffs' Responsibilities: Detention Duties 4 hours
(© Sheriffs' Responsibilities: Court Duties 6 hours

UNIT TOTAL 34 hours
Following completion of the required training topics, the applicant shall pass that portion of the
State Comprehensive Examination which deals with those subjects within 12 months of the date of
appointment as defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0103(1).
Unless a waiver has been granted pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .1901, persons who have training and
experience as a military law enforcement officer and are appointed as a deputy sheriff in North
Carolina shall, within the 12 month probationary period set forth in 12 NCAC 10B .0503(a),

complete:

€)] a commission-certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course in its entirety regardless
of previous military training and experience; and

(b) pass the State Comprehensive Examination.

Persons transferring to a sheriff's office from another law enforcement agency who have
previously completed a commission-certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course beginning
on or after January 1, 1996 through July 1, 1997, and who did not complete the Commission's
Driver Training curriculum, and who have been separated from a sworn law enforcement position
for no more than one year or who have had no break in service shall complete the following topic
of a Commission-certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course within 12 months of the date
of appointment as defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0103(1): Law Enforcement Driver Training 40 hours.
North Carolina applicants; qualified out-of-state transferees; and qualified federal transferees who
meet the requirements set forth in Items (7), (8) and (9) of this Rule shall be allowed to select one
of the following two options for gaining North Carolina certification as a deputy sheriff:
€)] Undertake and successfully complete Basic Law Enforcement Training in its entirety
during a one year probationary period and successfully pass the State Comprehensive
Examination; or
(b) Pass the following entry criteria:
(1) Challenge the Basic Law Enforcement Training Comprehensive State
Examination to be delivered at the end of an ongoing Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course and successfully pass each unit examination of the
comprehensive examination with a minimum score of 70%. Any applicant
failing to pass more than two unit examinations shall complete the Basic Law
Enforcement Training Course in its entirety. Any applicant failing one or two
unit examinations shall enroll in each topic area which comprises that unit
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taught in a subsequent BLET course and submit to the unit examination at the
end of the course and pass that unit examination;

(i) Each applicant shall demonstrate proficiency in the following skills related
activities to the satisfaction of an instructor certified by the North Carolina
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission in the
corresponding topical area. Successful completion of the skills related activities
as set out in this rule shall be documented by the certified instructor on the
corresponding Commission approved form found in the "Basic Law
Enforcement Training Manual” published by the North Carolina Justice
Academy and provided by the Division.

(A) First Responder;

(B) Firearms;

© Law Enforcement Driver Training;
(D) Physical Fitness; and

(E) Subject Control Arrest Techniques.

(iii) Any applicant failing to pass a unit examination after remediation as referenced
in this Rule shall be required to complete Basic Law Enforcement Training in its
entirety; and

(iv) All criteria referenced in this Rule must be successfully completed within the
one-year probationary period.

North Carolina applicants shall:

€)] have a minimum of two years full-time sworn law enforcement experience that occurred
prior to their application;

(b) have had a break in service exceeding one year;

(© have previously received General or Grandfather certification as a sworn law

enforcement officer by either the Commission or the North Carolina Criminal Justice
Education and Training Standards Commission, and such certification has not been
denied, revoked or suspended by either Commission; and

(d) have held general powers of arrest.

Out-of-state transferees shall:

@ have a minimum of two years full-time sworn law enforcement experience that occurred
prior to their application;

(b) have held certification in good standing as a sworn law enforcement officer from the
appropriate Peace Officer's Standards and Training entity in the transferee's respective
state;

(© have had general powers of arrest; and

(d) submit documentation verifying their qualified status.

Federal Transferees shall:

@ have a minimum of two years full-time sworn law enforcement experience;

(b) have held certification or commissioning as a sworn law enforcement officer from the

appropriate federal entity authorized to issue such sworn law enforcement officers
certification or commission;
(© have held general powers of arrest; and
(d) submit documentation verifying their qualified status.
Persons transferring to a sheriff's office from another law enforcement agency who held
certification, who have previously been granted a training waiver by the North Carolina Criminal
Justice Commission and who have been separated from a sworn law enforcement position for no
more than one year or who had no break in service shall not be required to complete the Basic
Law Enforcement Training course, but shall have the waiver honored by this Commission.
Persons previously holding Grandfather law enforcement certification in accordance with G.S.
17C-10(a) or G.S. 17E-7(a) who have been separated from a sworn law enforcement position for
less than one year or have had no break in service shall not be required to complete a commission-
certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course.

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7;
Eff. January 1, 1989;



Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; February 1,
1998; January 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; January 1, 1993; January 1, 1992;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6,
2018;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019.



